Now that my site is live, will putting the dev site in maintenance mode have any effect on my production site?
Thanks!
Josue Rodriguez on May 4, 2015:
Hello Grey,
Now that your site is live, there is no need to keep editing the dev site. You can make all your edits in the live (production) site. The dev site can serve the purpose of testing things you’re not ready to publish in your live site and or test for functionality of a new module or tool. Should you decide to put the dev site in maintenance mode, it will not affect your live (production) site. The Dev site is only visible within the Yale Network so it wont be visible to the outside world, except if a user is connected through the Yale Network. I hope this answers your question.
Hello Grey,
Now that your site is live, there is no need to keep editing the dev site. You can make all your edits in the live (production) site. The dev site can serve the purpose of testing things you’re not ready to publish in your live site and or test for functionality of a new module or tool. Should you decide to put the dev site in maintenance mode, it will not affect your live (production) site. The Dev site is only visible within the Yale Network so it wont be visible to the outside world, except if a user is connected through the Yale Network. I hope this answers your question.
Josue